Sculptor, Damien François was born in 1979 in Reims, France. Awarded of a B.A. diploma in 2010 from the School of Design in Denmark – Center for the Glass and the Ceramic – Bornholm, the artist is going to perfect his knowledge of the material between 2010 and 2015 in prestigious glass studios in Denmark, France, Norway, Germany and in United States. The project of the artist is ambitious : consider the glass as the support (medium) of its spirit in the same way as the oil for the painter or the bronze for the sculptor, to reveal to the world the essence of this material, which drives and passionate him.

To do this, it was necessary to unravel the mysteries of this particular material, made from sand. Studying glass is for Damien François, to share his Life, it is also to apprehend it from its causes : to know its constituents, to understand its reactions according to the constraints exercised, to analyze its mood swings, finally to master its technique of manufacture so delicate. Having the knowledge of the physical and sensitive properties of the material was the indispensable step to allow the artist not to eliminate them, but to be able to “abstract” them, in order to gain access to its Nature.

The material «tamed», it remained to the artist to reveal its essence, its beauty, by including the strength of his mind. From this association will be created a whole series of abstract compositions and irrational forms, within which Damien François will coexist such Janus, from the games of matter and colors, the opposites that animate him.

Christophe Mottet

 

Photos : Ingebjørg Kårstad

 

 

C.V.

Sculpteur, Damien François est né en 1979 à Reims (Marne). Diplômé en 2010 de l’École de Design du Danemark – Centre pour le Verre et la Céramique – Bornholm (Danemark), l’artiste va parfaire la connaissance de cette matière entre 2010 et 2015 dans de prestigieux ateliers de verre au Danemark, en France, en Norvège, en Allemagne ou encore aux États-Unis. Le projet de l’artiste est ambitieux : considérer le verre comme le support de son esprit au même titre que l’huile pour le peintre ou le bronze pour le sculpteur afin de révéler au monde l’essence de cette matière qui l’anime et le passionne.

Pour cela, il fallait percer les mystères de ce matériau si particulier réalisé à partir de sable. Étudier le verre c’est, chez Damien François, partager sa Vie, c’est aussi l’appréhender à partir de ses causes : connaître ses constituants, comprendre ses réactions en fonction des contraintes exercées, analyser ses sauts d’humeur, maîtriser enfin sa technique de fabrication si délicate. Avoir la connaissance des propriétés physiques et sensibles de cette matière était l’étape indispensable pour permettre à l’artiste non pas de les éliminer mais d’être capable de les « abstraire » de la chose pour accéder à sa Nature.

Le matériau « apprivoisé », ne restait plus à l’artiste qu’à en révéler son essence, sa beauté en y incluant la force de son esprit. De cette association va naître toute une série de compositions abstraites et de formes irrationnelles au sein desquelles Damien François va faire coexister tel Janus, à partir des jeux de matière et de couleurs, les contraires qui l’animent.

Christophe Mottet

 

Photos : Ingebjørg Kårstad

 

 

C.V.